Posted in Book Recommendations, Book Reviews

Book Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Today I’d like to tell you about a book that absolutely blew my mind. Angelfall by Susan Ee.

5/5 stars.

Here’s the blurb:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Angelfall has everything I thought I would hate, and twisted it around within the first couple of pages and made me absolutely love it.

Let me first say that I find angels incredibly lame. But this book changed that. We don’t have heavenly angels doing good deeds or saving the world. No. Susan Ee crafted these evil, creepy, malicious creatures that leave you questioning everything. Especially why Raffe, our main male angel, seems to be just as victim to this situation as our human lead, Penryn.

Amidst the whole trying not to die and rescue her kidnapped sister thing, Penryn also falls into a wildly amusing romance. The best part? It isn’t the main focus of the book. It isn’t even large enough to call a focus. Susan Ee does such an amazing job of keeping the focus on the larger problems at hand and weaving just enough romance into the background to satisfy.

Penryn and Raffe’s dialogue is witty and brilliant and both are wonderful characters. They’re strong, smart, independent, funny, and resourceful. I can’t wait to continue on with the series, and I look forward to reading more of Susan Ee’s work.

Full of action, laughs, mystery, and flat out creepy-I-need-to-sleep-with-the-lights-on-ness, Angelfall is not to be missed. Susan Ee’s writing is enjoyable to read, easy to picture, and fast paced. This quick read stays with you long after you read the last page, and I highly, highly, recommend you pick this one up.

Have you read Angelfall? Do you think you’ll give it a shot? Let me know in the comments!

Angelfall is available in Paperback and eBook, is book one in the Penryn and the End of Days Series, and was published May 21st 2011 by Feral Dream. Book 2, World After, is expected to be released November 19th 2013.

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. This sounds pretty cool! I’ve always been a big fan of hardened, warrior-type angels (it probably explains my slight obsession with the show Supernatural), and I’m glad to hear that this is a book that doesn’t focus on the romance. After reading the blurb, I was a little skeptical, but I might try it out now. Thanks for the reveiw!

    Like

Leave a Reply

