Posted in Uncategorized

Reading Overload!

So I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately, and I’m usually a one book type of gal. When I start something, I finish it. Period. I don’t care how horrible the book or how painful it is to drag myself to the final page by my fingernails. I finish it. And I don’t start something new until I do.

And now I find myself in the middle of five books at once.

I’m curious to see if any of you out there are capable of reading more than one book at once (I mean, you’re all probably physically capable of it, but do you enjoy it? Do you prefer reading multiple stories at once?).

Suddenly I have a hundred characters and dozens of subplots and settings and themes all dancing in my head. Apparently, I am not a wizard multitasker like I thought I was. Why do this to myself you ask? Because there are a million books I want to read and not enough time to read them all, so, naturally, driving myself mad is the only option.

Tell me about your reading habits. Do you read multiple books at once? Give yourself breaks after you finish one before starting another? Are you one of those people who is always reading a book? And do you always finish a book, or set it aside if it’s just not doing it for you? Let me know in the comments!

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

3 thoughts on “Reading Overload!

  1. I’m definitely a one-at-a-time reader. The only way I can read more than one book at once is if one is a re-read so I’m already familiar with it.

    I used to never be able to quit once I’d started, but gradually I’ve gotten used to DNFing books that I’m not into.

    Like

  2. I’m a “one book at a time” type of gal. I’ve only ever juggled two books at once (Pillars of the Earth is LONG! I would take breaks between its extensive sections to read another book). I’m stubborn like you and HAVE to finish a book once I start it. I think I’ve only given up on one or two out of the hundreds I’ve read. I also have to have a book on me at all times, like Rory Gilmore. I can’t go anywhere without one in my purse. It’s like a warm teddy bear, comforting me, haha.

    Like

  3. I guess I am what you would call a distracted reader. I love reading, and I go one book at a time, but it takes me 10x longer than it should because I just get so distracted. When I try to read everything, the TV, a movie, the radio…something shiny, gets me distracted. When I try to read I feel like a hamster with ADD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

