Posted in Book Recommendations, Book Reviews, Reading

June Wrap Up!

Since June was such a good reading month for me, I thought I’d do something a little different today and tell you what I read and whether each book is a ‘MUST READ’ ‘GOOD’ ‘EH’ or ‘PASS’. Let’s get straight into the books, shall we?

  1. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – This is the last book in the series, so that alone makes it a MUST READ for me. But it is also now my new favorite book in the series if that tells you anything.
  2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – I’m not a huge fan of the contemporary genre to begin with, so I may not be the best person to ask. This book was just GOOD for me. It was cute and fun, but not spectacular.
  3. Split Second by Kasie West – This is the sequel to Pivot Point (which I loved). This was GOOD and worth reading if you liked the first one.
  4. On Writing by Stephen King – This book is part memoir part writing craft and was overall okay for me. Somewhere in between GOOD and EH. There wasn’t anything groundbreaking in the book, but I did enjoy reading it and marked a few pages with sticky notes.
  5. Rebel by Amy Tintera – This is the (only) sequel to Reboot, and I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would. Even more than the first book, I think. MUST READ.
  6. The Unbound by Victoria Schwab – This is the sequel to The Archived and is absolutely, positively a MUST. READ.
  7. Left Drowning by Jessica Park – Not my cup of tea. PASS.
  8. Altered by Jennifer Rush – This is a solid GOOD but nowhere near a must read. Entertaining, but nothing special. I probably won’t read the second book anytime soon.
  9. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Oh my gosh this book. Definitely a fast, light read. Lots of fun and it’s a MUST READ for me just because of how much it made me laugh.
  10. Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres – I listened to the audiobook version, and would recommend doing the same if you’re considering picking it up. I don’t imagine it would be as enjoyable otherwise. It was entertaining enough, but honestly, it’s just a really good EH for me.
  11. Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout – (Sequel to Obsidian, see above) These books are like crack cocaine. MUST READ.
  12. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – So. Good. I enjoyed this so much more than I thought I would. MUST READ.
  13. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins – Do not be fooled by the cover. This is not just a girl book. I can’t remember the last time a book made me laugh as much as this one did. MUST READ. MUST READ. MUST READ.

So those are the books I read in June. Let me know what books you read last month and if you’ve read any of these. And happy July reading! 🙂

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

2 thoughts on “June Wrap Up!

  1. You read so many fantastic books! City of Heavenly Fire *drool*. My copy came yesterday and I’m sososososo excited for it. Did you cry? I have heard people say they cried. I’m glad you loved Rebel Belle too, I’m doing it as part of a book club this month actually.

    Like

    1. City of Heavenly Fire was so good! I may have cried a little 😉 I hope you like Rebel Belle! I thought it was hilarious 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

