Posted in Book Recommendations, Book Reviews, Reading

Anna Dressed in Blood Book Review (No Spoilers)

9378297Anna Dressed in Blood By Kendare Blake

Published October 17th 2011 by Tor Teen

Hardcover 320 pages

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads

Just your average boy-meets-girl, boy-must-kill-girl, boy-actually-likes-girl, oh and girl-is-a-ghost story.

Anna Dressed in Blood follows Cas, bad-ass ghost hunter, who sets out to kill Anna, a murderous ghost more dangerous than any he’s ever seen. Things get complicated, however, when Cas realizes that maybe all of the killings aren’t Anna’s fault,  and there might be something greater at play.

I’ve wanted to read Anna Dressed in Blood for years. Literally years. And yet, for years it’s just been sitting on my shelves.

Why, you ask? I couldn’t tell you.

But finally I decided to pick it up and I’m so glad that I did.

I’m not going to lie, it took me awhile to get into the book. It’s not that the opening chapters aren’t interesting. In fact, they’re super engaging and well-written and raise a lot of questions. I guess it just took me awhile to feel any sort of connection to the characters. And whether that has to do with the book itself or just the mood I was in while reading it is anybody’s guess.

But overall, I really enjoyed the book. The humor, the romance, the violence, the twists. Yeah, all good.

But if one thing surprised me, it was the violence.

And I know what you’re thinking. “Katie. The book’s title is Anna Dressed in Blood” for crying out loud. Of course it was violent!”

But you have no idea. This book was dark and gritty and just flat-out brutal. But in the best possible way. (Needless to say, if you don’t like super graphic descriptions and lots of blood in your stories, this one might not be for you. But if that stuff doesn’t bother you, by all means, jump on in!)

Another really pleasant surprise was how involved Cas’s mom was in the story. Usually YA parents are kind of cast off into no-man’s-land for the purposes of plot, but having Cas’s mom as an equally important main character was really refreshing.

The romance was probably my least favorite part. It wasn’t super well developed and I felt like it was just thrown in there because it’s hard not to have romance in a YA novel now-a-days. It wasn’t bad, but the book could have been perfectly fine without it.

The romance aside, I would definitely recommend this book. It’s a super-fast read with lots of action, laughs, and excitement. Overall, I’d give Anna Dressed in Blood 4 stars, and highly recommend for fans of horror or anything dark and creepy. The book definitely isn’t scary, but it’s very atmospheric and dark.

Let me know if you’ve read Anna Dressed in Blood or if you plan on picking it up!

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

One thought on “Anna Dressed in Blood Book Review (No Spoilers)

Leave a Reply

