Posted in Book Recommendations, Book Reviews, Reading

Book Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky (No Spoilers)

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

Published February 23rd 2016 by Point

Hardcover 320 pages

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads

Kill the Boy Band follows four fangirl friends who stalk and accidentally kidnap their least favorite band member of their most favorite band.

The girls are obsessed with The Ruperts, the band that’s hilariously based off One Direction, and in an attempt to meet the band before a concert that they weren’t able to get tickets for, the girls book a room in the same hotel. From there everything just explodes into extreme chaos.

Guys, this book is funny. You have to go into it knowing this is complete satire and full of absolute ridiculousness. But it’s hysterical. The humor was very dark and odd, but I absolutely loved it.

I went into this book skeptical, wondering if it was going to be like all of those One Direction fan-fictions plastered across the internet, but rest assured, this is nothing like that.

Kill the Boy Band is self-aware and somehow manages to poke fun at fangirls while also defending them at the same time. And despite how ridiculous the majority of this book is, I think anyone who has ever been a fan of pretty much anything can relate to some parts of this book. And maybe that’s what I found so amusing. I was laughing at the book and at my past self.

Another thing I really appreciated about this book is the diversity with the weight and ethnicity of the characters. It’s feminist without being in your face, and laugh-out-loud funny at times.

Yes, the book is very silly and unrealistic, but if you take it for what it is, and go in just looking for a good time, I think you’ll really enjoy this one.

Kill the Boy Band is Goldy Moldavsky’s debut novel, and I very much look forward to her future works.

Let me know if you’ve read Kill the Boy Band or if you plan on picking it up! (You totally should).

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

One thought on “Book Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky (No Spoilers)

Leave a Reply

