Posted in Uncategorized

So This Twitter Thing…

Hey. Hi. Hello.

So.

I made a Twitter. (Yes, it’s taken me this long.) But I figured it was time. So I made one.

But.

But I don’t have any idea what I’m doing.

And I don’t have any idea who to follow.

I’ve decided it’s going to be an account dedicated to books and such (mostly) because I still don’t really see a point in a personal one. So I want to follow other writers/readers/bloggers etc and see what all the fuss is about!

So. You should comment your handle (that’s what it’s called, right?) so I can find people to follow! (Or follow me and I’ll find you that way to follow you back). You can find my profile through the link at the top of my blog or you can just click here. Yay! Let’s all be Twitter friends! (Virtual group hug).

But seriously, I plan for my account to revolve around what I’m reading, writing, etc. I don’t know. I don’t really know how the whole Twitter things works, to be honest.

SO. If you’re an experienced Twitter user, please, please, please feel free to leave some words of wisdom and/or Twitter advice for this newbie.

Cheers to finally jumping on the Twitter train like 7 years late!

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

4 thoughts on “So This Twitter Thing…

  1. I’m a Twitter too. As far as who to follow. I follow most anyone who follows me, even those who don’t post book related stuff. I figure anyone might be a reader. I recommend you also get a “friend or follow” account. With that you can keep your numbers more balanced, which is important with Twitter. It allows you to see who you’ve followed, who no longer follows you. The way I see it, if they’re not seeing what you post, unless you really want to see what they post, there’s no reason to continue to follow them. If there’s anything else I can help you with, just ask.

    Like

  2. I was SO overwhelmed when I first joined Twitter. I think the key to building a following is engagement. Don’t just follow people in hopes they’ll follow you back. Favorite and comment on their tweets. You know, be human, lol.

    To help narrow your search for possible followers/people to interact with, search by specific hashtags. My favorites are: #writerslife, #booknerd, #amwriting, and #amreading. Be sure to include those in your own tweets if they’re related to writing or reading. Hashtags are pretty important (IMO). If you don’t add a hashtag, the only people who will see your tweets are your followers (and if you don’t have many, then not many will see them and you’ll basically be talking into a black hole).

    Retweeting other people’s tweets is a good idea too. I don’t do that as much as I should, but I know a lot of people who do and it helps build their followers.

    Anyway, hope those tips help! A lot of it you’ll learn just by being active. 🙂

    Oh, if you’d like to follow me, my handle is @jenspenden. I’ll for sure you follow you back! Welcome to Twitter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

