Posted in Book Reviews

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes Book Discussion!

Just in case you haven’t seen the previews for the upcoming movie or if this is your first time seeing this cover, I’ll give you a quick rundown of the book. Me Before You follows Lou, a 26-year-old woman who loses her job and seeks employment with a wealthy family who is looking for a caregiver for Will, their 35 year-old quadriplegic son.

They start off hating each other. Lots of snark. Lots of sarcasm.

I’m sure you can see where this is going.

I’m not going to lie to you. This book is predictable. I can’t say anything in here surprised me.

And I had high expectations going into the book. The movie trailer looks fantastic, and everyone I know who read it kept telling me things like that book made me cry! or I absolutely loved it!

So, of course, I was expecting to absolutely love it.

But the thing is. I didn’t.

But that doesn’t mean it’s a bad book.

I wanted so badly to love, love, love this book just like everyone else seems to. I went into it already mentally preparing a rave review. And I guess maybe that’s why it fell a little flat for me.

However, there were definitely aspects that I enjoyed.

I did find the characters to be well fleshed out—and not just Lou and Will. We really get to know the side characters and their family members as well. I enjoyed how quirky all of the characters were, and couldn’t help but compare Lou to Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins because of the way she dressed 🙂

I appreciated that this book handled heavy topics well. I liked that it never romanticized or downplayed Will’s injury. It in no way glossed over the ugly parts, and the romance was incredibly realistic and slow-burn.

So really, I can’t quite put my finger on why I didn’t love the book. I can’t quite figure out why I’m feeling so underwhelmed. I’m assuming it must be a combination of too much hype and the setting in which I read it (a very long and stressful travel experience in which I was stranded in an airport for a day).

So.

If the movie trailer or premise appeal to you, I would recommend checking it out. It’s not a bad book. I’d give it a solid 3 stars, and I am really looking forward to the release of the movie.

Did anyone else have a similar reaction to reading this book? Or maybe you really loved it or really hated it? Share your thoughts in the comments! Let’s discuss!

Follow me on Twitter!

Subscribe to me on YouTube!

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

4 thoughts on “Me Before You by JoJo Moyes Book Discussion!

  1. Nice review! With over-hyped books they tend to be hit or misses. I enjoyed Me Before You but the ending wasn’t enough for me. I blame that on me being the hopeless romantic that I am, always wanting the ‘happily ever after’.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I completely agree. It’s either one or the other with overhyped books. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I completely understand about the ending. Lots of people prefer happy endings!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

