Posted in Food for thought Friday

Food for Thought Friday: What Are You Grateful For?

You may or may not be aware that I’ve been listening to a self-help audiobook–I know. Totally not my thing. But I’ve been doing it anyway because broaden your horizons and all that jazz. (The book is You Are a Badass by Jen Sincero if you want to check it out). But at one point in the book, it talks about focusing on the positive side of a situation and finding things to be grateful for, even when times are hard.

I’ve found a lot of the advice in this book to be sort of gibberish, but I couldn’t stop thinking about this chapter.

How many times have you thought yourself into a bad mood? I can only speak for myself, but I’m willing to guess it’s a lot. We micromanage and obsess over the bad things in our lives

I can’t believe I had a stain on my shirt in that interview! I’m never going to get the job. 

Of course I just tripped as I walked past a hot guy. Chance=blown

I can’t believe I just failed my math final. My life is over.

Freshman fifteen? More like freshman fifty! WHAT HAVE I DONEEEEE

And so on.

And I’m as guilty of doing this as anyone else.

SO. I’ve designed a little experiment for myself, and if you’d like, you are more than welcome to join me. Each day I’m going to take the time to physically write down (on paper–no typing!) 10 things I’m grateful for each day. And I don’t mean big picture things like I’m grateful for my family and friends and health–I mean little specific things that happened that day.

For example, here’s my first list:

I’m grateful for…

1.  How pretty the mountains looked on my drive home

2. How happy and giddy my grandmother was at her Mother’s Day present

3. How tightly she hugged me goodbye

4. How hard I laughed at my dad’s jokes

5. That we were all able to be together for Mother’s Day

6. That the rain on our hike only lasted a little while and I didn’t slip on the rocks on our way back down

7. That my dogs were so blissfully happy to see me when we got back

8. How quickly I managed to fall asleep that night (I’m usually a bit of an insomniac)

9. That my friend trusted me enough to call me and ask for my advice over one of her problems

10. How freaking fantastic the book I’m reading is so far!

 

So there you have it! I’m hoping this exercise will force me to be more positive and enjoy the little things more, and ultimately improve my quality of life. It’s something small, but I believe it’s something important.

Thanks for reading.

What are you grateful for?

Follow me on Twitter!

Subscribe to me on YouTube!

Author:

Hello! My name is Katie and I like to write. If I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, running, playing with my dogs, or eating peanut butter ;)

Leave a Reply

